2016 and Beyond

It’s been more than half a year since I updated my personal travel blog. So much has happened in between those months.

For the good part, I’ve been on a hiking frenzy since my first climb to Mt. Pulag. This was followed by Mt. Pinatubo and Mt. Maculot which I have also posted about. Within the next half of the year, I followed this up with Mt. Pamitinan, Mt. Haponang Banoi, Mt. Daraitan and Mt. Pico de Loro. That’s a total of 7 mountains last year!

I also went to Iligan City, Cagayan de Oro and Dahilayan (in Bukidnon) which are all located in Mindanao. This, I will be featuring as well.

Now on to some serious business…

An incident happened last December 30 involving my home. A fire broke out in our residence and left almost nothing in our second floor. At the end of it, we were very fortunate that no one got hurt.

What saddens me about this whole incident were all the sentimental memories kept in that home which included all of my travel photos (including back-ups). My girlfriend has most of the recent photos when she travels with me. Unfortunately, the rest are gone.

With that being said, I was very fortunate to have a few things with me before it all happened including some of my cameras. I was supposed to hike with my brother that very morning.

For now…

I reside at my grandmother’s house near the heart of Chinatown (in Manila). I’m closer to work but far from everything else. It took awhile for me to adjust to certain changes and learn the harsh truth about acceptance. For all it’s worth, I think I am a much better person now.

At the start of this year, I have almost equaled the number of hikes I have done last year: Mt. Sipit Ulang (twice), Mt. Binacayan, Mt. Gola, Mt. Manalmon, Mt. Ayaas and last but not the least, our summit to Mt. Kinabalu. I have also traveled outside of the country to places like Malaysia, Vietnam and Taiwan so far.

I am not sure if I have finally moved on or trying to escape from it all. That I have yet to figure out.

With that being said, I’m back for all it’s worth!

– The Tourist Pao

Leave a Reply

