Hanoi (Day ½: Kuala Lumpur Layover)

Since the ticket we (me and my brother) booked for Kota Kinabalu was only one way, I decided to extend our vacation by travelling to Hanoi after. Of course, we had this planned a few weeks prior to our trip.

Our adventure starts in Kota Kinabalu. Right on the same day that we returned from our summit climb back to the city. While the rest of our group headed elsewhere before their morning flight (back to Manila the next day), me and my brother were stuck at the hotel lobby prepping up for the next leg of our trip. We already checked-out the day before so we had no choice but to fix our belongings in the lobby waiting area. I really wanted to take a bath at this point but the comfort room did not have a shower. The last time I had a proper shower was roughly two days ago – the night before we hiked Mount Kinabalu. Yuck!

It was quite late when we arrived back at the city so I rushed packed, took a half bath (You do not want to know how) and changed into fresh new clothes within 30 minutes before we headed to the airport. It was almost 8PM when we arrived at Kota Kinabalu International Airport.

Upon check-in, we were lucky to be given choice seats for our first flight and exit row seats for the second. Since we booked via AirAsia, we had a connecting flight from Kota Kinabalu to Kuala Lumpur followed by a 6-hour layover before heading to Hanoi. I was so tired at this point that I already fell asleep before we even departed.

L1090489

As soon as we arrived at KLIA2, I decided to take my brother to the Petronas Towers. It was his first time in Kuala Lumpur while it was already my fourth time to visit this city. I was expecting a quick in-and-out at the towers but our short layover side tour took longer than expected. We did not have much choice but to find a driver at the airport. And yes, I know the rate given to us was inflated.

L1090543

Despite our initial hesitation, I am glad that I was able to bring my brother here. I recommend visiting the towers at this time when no one is around.

L1090552

Going back to the airport, our driver made a slight mishap and missed the turn back to the airport. Fortunately, we took the next exit and we were able to return in time.

We grabbed some breakfast at Old Town White Coffee located right at the airport entrance. I made him try some teh tarik. Probably my favorite drink in Malaysia! A few minutes later, we were back at the departure gate ready to board our plane to Hanoi.

Hanoi (Day 1: Essence Palace Hotel, Hoa Lo Prison, Sofitel Metropole, Hoan Kiem Lake)

– The Tourist Pao

 

 

Leave a Reply

